Apple's Waze-like navigation system creates routes based on user ratings, real-time accident reporti

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 37
    markbritonmarkbriton Posts: 123member
    If Apple uses ads in maps I would imagine it would be in the form of identifying places on your route. A McDonalds logo showing you the location of one of their restaurants for example.
  • Reply 22 of 37
    froodfrood Posts: 771member

Quote:

Originally Posted by iamnemani View Post

There ARE two options you know, instead of just copying!!

1. Innovate like apple and find a better way to do it

2. Ask apple nicely for a license to the patent, and pay for the license!! (The problem for these other companies is this! They want to give things away for free, so they have no choice but to steal instead of paying the licensing fees). 

As a software developer I hate this free nonsense! Any cars being sold for free out there? or staplers? or homes? music? movies? or anything infact! Why should software be free? It can be cheap, the price can be a downright steal, but free it shouldn't be. Too many developers suffering because people have gotten used to getting free software out there!

His complaint was that Apple itself would not make good use of its own patents.

I generally dont like most software patents because the majority try to patent fairly obvious things with the goal of obstructing others.

In Apples case, most of their patents lately very much patent things other people not only have come up with, but already have implemented and running in a product.

Apple uses them to browbeat small fish.  Even if you know prior art exists and the patent is bunk, nobody wants to go to court and fight Apples lawyers.  The exceptions would be companies with big legal teams or tech that could prove the patents are bunk.  Once proven bunk the patents are invalid so its a little game they play of not using patents likely to be invalidated against companies with the clout to do it.