How well does Apple cover its markets?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
With all the discussion about why the Mac sucks because it's slower than AMD or why the Mac is great because it's fun to use or powerful, I'm beginning to feel that the discussion is too generalized. We all discuss how the Mac is just plain better or worse but take no consideration for the different market segments that make use of Apple technology. I would like to discuss the advantages or disadvantages of Apple's technology in very specific market segments along with each of the requirements for people of these segements.

For example, I'm a college student, and for a college student who has similar needs to me, I've listed the features of the computer that I need and how well the Mac meets them. It would be great if different people from different markets (scientist, teacher, artist, CEO, mother...) post in an organized list of their needs and how well the platform suits them with specific programs and such.

1) Music- Mp3s are the lifeblood of the computer for me. I play them for hours on end in my dorm. This is one area that I can say the Mac is truely better because iTunes blows away Winamp or Media Player on any terms. With the iPod, I can listen to music while walking to class, back from class, through the night... no charging. Amazing!

2) AIM- AIM is something else that is essential. Right now the AIM clients for Mac and Win seem to be the same quality (I haven't used voice or video chat or whatever, I'm not sure what the comparison is between these but no one I know with uses these either). But with Apple writing an AIM client with integration with Mail and Addressbook, and considering Apple might be slightly better at coding than AOL =), I think the Mac will excel in this area. (I know there's others, but I haven't tried them. By the way is there a good OS 9 client? AOL's is clunky!!!)