Why I am Feed up with APPLE MACS

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
1: When I bright my 17 inch Studio Display for £800 pounds over here in the uk I found that I have a bit of a problem if I wanted it too work with my G4 DVi ATI Graphic card which was in my Mac at the time. I then find out that I have the get a Power Unit for the monitor, which will cost me an extra £120 pounds so I can use the ****ing thing.



2: What was the point of changing too ADC. All for the sake of having one cable too plugin too the mac and it works. Ok Its sound like a good idear but what about the people hue have a older G4 powermac.



It not hard too setup a monitor and if you find it hard then you should not be using the ****ing computer in the first place. My godddddddd it has more then one cable how am i going too get this too work it so hard.



Great work apple thanks for ripping me off again.

Comments

  • Reply 1 of 15
    jambojambo Posts: 3,036member
    Moving to General discussion as this has 'hee haw bugger-aw' to do with Futre Hardware.



    Where is Sir Mac? Only he would understand that!



    J :cool:
  • Reply 2 of 15
    3: And now I find out that the New 17inch IMAC has a Higher res then my 17inch Studio Display and the studio display is for the Pro rang .



    Thats one more reason too be pissed off.
  • Reply 3 of 15
    buonrottobuonrotto Posts: 6,368member
    Mother tongue can be a bitch sometimes, eh?



    Technology moves ahead. If you're pissed at Apple for making the 17" iMac that outspecs your setup, you'll be absolutely livid on a PC. This is an inevitable part of buying a computer, so you'll have to get used to it. Once they sell it, it means something else is in the pipeline. Once you buy it, it means it's obsolete.
  • Reply 4 of 15
    brussellbrussell Posts: 9,812member
    You go girl!
  • Reply 5 of 15
    progmacprogmac Posts: 1,850member
    I have a SCSI scanner, a SCSI external hard drive and a Parallel printer. None of them work with my new PowerMac out of the box. I bought a SCSI card and got a new printer. I don't mind, SCSI and parallel ports are outdated. Technology moves ahead, get over it.



    [ 07-19-2002: Message edited by: progmac ]</p>
  • Reply 6 of 15
    progmacprogmac Posts: 1,850member
    oh, and i didn't realize Apple mad Media Access Control cards that could connect to a monitor in any fashion.



    [ 07-19-2002: Message edited by: progmac ]</p>
  • Reply 7 of 15
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,341member
    Wayne...you're starting to troll. We've been kind to you but there are times when you need to realize that Apple moves on and if you want to use legacy devices you will have to jump through some hoops.



    You need to look at the price of this Power box for ADC or investigate getting a new graphics card.



    This is not Apples fault. All computer companies move on.
  • Reply 8 of 15
    katekate Posts: 172member
    [quote]Originally posted by hmurchison:

    <strong>This is not Apples fault. All computer companies move on.</strong><hr></blockquote>



    This IS Apples fault. With their stupid fashion of inventing proprietary connectors one day and abandon that fashion two months later. Speaking display -wise. <img src="graemlins/hmmm.gif" border="0" alt="[Hmmm]" />



    These are no new developments that would justify such a move, but the result of poor marketing and even lesser and worse used logic in technical design. Full stop. <img src="graemlins/oyvey.gif" border="0" alt="[No]" />



    [ 07-19-2002: Message edited by: Kate ]</p>
  • Reply 9 of 15
    [quote]Originally posted by Kate:

    <strong>



    This IS Apples fault. With their stupid fashion of inventing proprietary connectors one day and abandon that fashion two months later. Speaking display -wise. <img src="graemlins/hmmm.gif" border="0" alt="[Hmmm]" />



    These are no new developments that would justify such a move, but the result of poor marketing and even lesser and worse used logic in technical design. Full stop. <img src="graemlins/oyvey.gif" border="0" alt="[No]" />



    [ 07-19-2002: Message edited by: Kate ]</strong><hr></blockquote>



    Good too see someone here like Kate is speaking some logic.



    Thanks Kate
  • Reply 10 of 15
    eugeneeugene Posts: 8,254member
    Kate, huh, what? ADC is catching on with ATi. The new ATi Mac products just released have ADC. it's definitely here to stay.



    [ 07-19-2002: Message edited by: Eugene ]</p>
  • Reply 11 of 15
    brussellbrussell Posts: 9,812member
    [quote]Originally posted by Kate:

    <strong>



    This IS Apples fault. With their stupid fashion of inventing proprietary connectors one day and abandon that fashion two months later. Speaking display -wise. <img src="graemlins/hmmm.gif" border="0" alt="[Hmmm]" /> </strong><hr></blockquote>1. They didn't invent ADC.

    2. It's not proprietary.

    3. They haven't left any proprietary display connections.



    Aside from that, your post is dead-on.
  • Reply 12 of 15
    hmurchisonhmurchison Posts: 12,341member
    [quote] This IS Apples fault. With their stupid fashion of inventing proprietary connectors one day and abandon that fashion two months later. Speaking display -wise. <hr></blockquote>



    Flat out wrong



    [quote] Good too see someone here like Kate is speaking some logic. <hr></blockquote>



    No logic is moving compuer equipment from one generation to another is usually going to entail some strife whether it be connectivity or drivers . To berate Apple is totally disengenuous. You could blame the entire Industry using your "logic".



    A suggestion. Try to offer at leasta few posts with a glimmer of hope.
  • Reply 13 of 15
    overhopeoverhope Posts: 1,123member
    [quote]Originally posted by Waynepixel:

    <strong>1: When I bright my 17 inch Studio Display for £800 pounds over here in the uk I found that I have a bit of a problem if I wanted it too work with my G4 DVi ATI Graphic card which was in my Mac at the time.</strong><hr></blockquote>



    Wayne, did you actually look at the display before you bought it, or just merrily charge into the shop waving an RDF and a credit card?



    Caveat Emptor, dude: holding Apple responsible for the fact that you didn't do your homework is like suing you teacher because you didn't get good grades...



    Why didn't you get a Formac 1740 display, which has ADC and DVI inputs?
  • Reply 14 of 15
    orionorion Posts: 10member
    [quote]Originally posted by Waynepixel:

    <strong>

    Great work apple thanks for ripping me off again.</strong><hr></blockquote>



    You know, you always could use the Amiga One system instead like some of the rest of us are doing. <img src="graemlins/smokin.gif" border="0" alt="[Chilling]" />
  • Reply 15 of 15
    pushermanpusherman Posts: 410member
    I don't understand why you're so pissed off, when you didn't even bother to make sure the new display was compatible with your old system.



    It's not like you could have been confused - after all, wasn't the 17" LCD introduced after the switch to ADC?
Sign In or Register to comment.