Teardown of 21.5" iMac with 4K Retina display finds new LG LCD, no PCIe SSD slot, soldered-on CPU

1235»

Comments

• Reply 81 of 96
    nolamacguy wrote: »
    im a tech guy and built countless PC rigs over the years. but even I've never changed a HD on any of my macs. i get them, they do the job, and when i need something else i give away or sell the old one. its an appliance. that a few tinkerers do swap out drives is no reason for apple not to push the envelope on integrated system designs.

I just had to get the hdd/ssd (fusion drive, so I dont really know which one) replaced on my late 2012 iMac, I got a mail from apple that it was in a series that might have a problematic disk, and just about the same time I actually started having problems that were typical for a failing drive. So I took it to my local appledealer, and it was fixed for free, which was nice, but it took a week, which was not so nice, especially for something that I used to be able to do in a few minutes myself.
  • Reply 82 of 96
    Quote:

Originally Posted by darkgoob View Post

Doesn't mean the CPU isn't user-replaceable... Just means you need to know how to solder and have a decent set of CPU soldering equipment.

Sigh

Like anyone is going to try and de-solder and re-solder a broadwell chip without worrying about fucking the chip or the board.

sigh.

• Reply 83 of 96
    maxitmaxit Posts: 222member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Suddenly Newton View Post

Says who? Your BYOPC worldview?

The Mac has had soldered-in RAM chips since 1984. This is not a new thing for Apple.

actually my current MBP 13" and iMac 21.5" are the FIRST Macs with soldered RAM I've ever seen ... Apple user since 1989

• Reply 84 of 96
    Quote:

Originally Posted by staticx57 View Post

Have you ever opened the hood of your car?