How to pick the best monitor for your new Mac mini

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 35
    entropys said:
    backstab said:
    Why the heck would anybody buy a 27" or 21.5" display for their Mac Mini?
    Because a 27 inch monitor would allow the mini to be an iMac substitute.  You know, the machine for which Tim Cook is far too busy doing other things to sign the approval form to release the next update.
    Incremental CPU bumps are irrelevant. The iMacs have received so much love since my 2011 model it’s crazy. The pro or 5k just blow it out of the water. 

And yet, even my old 2011 model, which was maxed out, still serves as my primary desktop. I’m an enterprise software engineer. This is what people mean when they talk about TCO and why Macs are cheaper than commodity PCs. 
    There's a second side to that comparison. By keeping a machine for several years you spread out the cost, but as you said, you also freeze performance. With a more frequent upgrade cycle you enjoy the benefits of speed, convenience, and capability that newer models bring.

Both considerations have merit and which matters more depends on the individual use case. I'm just saying the lower cost per year of a kong lasting machine isn't free money, it's trading performance for savings.
  • Reply 22 of 35
    For a while I kicked around the idea of having one wide-format monitor instead of two with convention aspect ratios. in that format, curved screens seem to outnumber flat by about three to one. That surprised me a little, as I look at curved screens the same way as kneeling chairs -- a silly fad we'll be laughing at in ten years.

Does the large selection of curved screens just mean manufacturers are anxious to cash in on the trend before the novelty wears off, or is there some genuine advantage I'm not seeing? I find them annoying.
    baconstang
  • Reply 23 of 35
    Oops!
    edited December 2018
  • Reply 24 of 35
    stwstw Posts: 21member