Inherited iPad with unknown Apple ID password - please help!!

Posted:
in Genius Bar
Hi everyone, 

I'm new to Apple, having recently been given an unused MacBook by my father-in-law, who had not been able to get on with it.

He also donated to us his iPad which he was also not using any longer, which was intended for his granddaughter.  He wanted me to erase all of his details from it before handing it over to her, but in trying to do this, it has become apparent that he no longer knows his Apple ID password - he gave me what he thought it was, and after trying different variations of it, his account is now locked.

He can't remember where, when, or how he purchased the iPad (he has the start of dementia), so proving ownership in an Apple store will be difficult to say the least!

Is there any way around this problem so that I can set up the iPad for my daughter to use, or do we now have a somewhat high value paperweight on our hands?!

Thanks in advance,

Babybird

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    thttht Posts: 5,451member
    If the iPad is activation locked, mind as well sell it to someone for scrap. 

The only alternative is for you to hire a company or entity that can get through the activation lock through the various password guessing machines. The police use these. I have no idea if you can hire a company that can do this for you. So my advice is to go find a repair shop, and they may know of a service that does this. Hopefully, the iPad is using an old version of iOS.

This probably will end up costing more than the value of the iPad however, in which case...
    Babybird
  • Reply 2 of 4
    tht said:
    If the iPad is activation locked, mind as well sell it to someone for scrap.