Speaking of M I D I

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Sometimes I feel like a complete newbie

But the reality is that I want to burn some Midi files that i downloaded from the net onto a Cd so that I can play them on my really cool 80's sony mini sound system CD player.

I am running OS 9.2 on a 600 Mhtz I-mac

Have Quicktime & I-tunes.

Do I need to convert the midi files into another format ?

Do i need to get a life...?

All tips appreciated.\

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    ghost_user_nameghost_user_name Posts: 22,667member
    I've never heard of the "I-mac" or "I-tunes". Are those new?

Just open the midi file in QuickTime and choose export from the File menu. You can save as an aiff file there. Voila!
  • Reply 2 of 8
    aquafireaquafire Posts: 2,758member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Brad

I've never heard of the "I-mac" or "I-tunes". Are those new?

Just open the midi file in QuickTime and choose export from the File menu. You can save as an aiff file there. Voila!

What's an aiff ?

Apple Insider Fighting Force ?

• Reply 3 of 8
    Short for Audio Interchange File Format, AIFF is a common format for storing and transmitting sampled sound. The format was developed by Apple Computer and is the standard audio format for Macintosh computers. It is also used by Silicon Graphics Incorporated (SGI).

The AIFF format does not support data compression so AIFF files tend to be large. However, there is another format called AIFF-Compressed (AIFF-C or AIFC) that supports compression ratios as high as 6:1.
  • Reply 4 of 8
    ibrowseibrowse Posts: 1,749member
    I had a bunch of MIDI and I just imported it into iTunes. I burnt a CD of it and iTunes just converted the tracks before it burnt them. Is that what you wanted to do?
  • Reply 5 of 8
    aquafireaquafire Posts: 2,758member
    Quote:

Originally posted by iBrowse