Wait Time Between Al 15 Order and Actually Getting the Box?

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
I'm a student and have been waiting on Apple for a while to get a new laptop. My school starts relatively late on Sep 22 so I didn't think it would be a problem waiting for the new PBs - but noting that the G5s are taking months to ship - I'm wondering: will it be the same for the new PBs?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 22
    pscatespscates Posts: 5,847member
    Probably. I wouldn't doubt it for one second.
  • Reply 2 of 22
    halodehalode Posts: 21member
    Personally it seems to me that they very rarely announce awesome things are ready for immediate shipment... \

It's such a dilemma, because what if they announce a speedbumb in Sept but then the G5 in Feb?

The 12" education deal is really good right now... maybe you should look into that or a used if it gets to Sep 14ish and there's no sign of new 'bookage....

It's the same question a lot of us have, I think... not that I really have a deadline like you, but there comes a point when if they are not going to update, I could have been plunking away on a laptop by now, and I've been waiting for NOTHING, which is annoying.

• Reply 3 of 22
    Well, for reasons too numerous (and boring) to go into, I've simply decided to get the Rev. B 12" PowerBook, whatever/whenever it is.

Figure it'll be at least 1GHz, maybe FireWire 800 and USB 2 (I don't know), probably a stock 60GB hard drive, maybe a faster SuperDrive (2X?).

That'll do me fine for a year or so, I'm sure. I'll revisit the whole "15-inch high-end PowerBook" issue in 2004/2005. Too "in between" right now, in the G4>G5 transition.

I'd rather drop $1799 right now than $2599, just until the smoke settles and we see what's what.

But yeah, they'll probably announce the 15" (and updated 12" and 17" models) and say "announcing today, shipping in November..." or whatever.

Sigh...