New Mac user, strange question . . .

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I'm brand new to Macs. I use the loopy-key + Q to quit applications, but it doesn't work with Finder. Why?

And what the heck is the real name for that loopy key that kinda looks like a # sign?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 40
    pesipesi Posts: 424member
    beacause you're not supposed to quit the Finder...

that key is called the command key. old apple types will sometimes also refer to it as the "open apple" key.
  • Reply 2 of 40
    dfilerdfiler Posts: 3,420member
    That is the 'command' key.

The finder isn't quitable for historical reasons. Prior to OS X, the finder and the OS were pretty much thought of as one thing or inseperable. Even though the finder is now just another application, it still doesn't seem right to be able to quit it. Perhaps this will change over time as people no longer perceive the finder as actually being the OS itself.
  • Reply 3 of 40
    also, i should add that there are ways to quit the Finder if you really really want. beats me why you'd want to do so though...

since you're new to the Mac... go to versiontracker and download tinkertool. this prefpane unlocks hidden preferences in OS X. there's an option in there to add a "quit" command to the finder.
  • Reply 4 of 40
    Quitting the Finder on Mac OS X would be analogous the killing Explorer on Windows. Close it and you have no desktop and can't get to your files and programs except for those on your Dock.

pesi is right about TinkerTool. TinkerTool is a freeware add-on that enables a number of hidden options in Mac OS X. It doesn't hack anything or run anything dangerous in the background; it simply toggles features that don't have visible switches in the preferences. It's kind of like what TweakUI does for Windows but in a much more limited sense.

Welcome to Macintosh and AppleInsider. I hope you enjoy your stay. Feel free to post any other questions!
  • Reply 5 of 40