More memory in new PBs...

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Has anybody put more memory in their powerbooks yet? I looked online for a guide to how, but couldn't find one. Can anybody help me? (This is my first mac)

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    BTW...yup, I'm a stupid newbie.

(I found how to replace them in the old PBs, however the new ones don't seem to have a keyboard screw...)
  • Reply 2 of 10
    Quote:

Originally posted by JoelBennett

BTW...yup, I'm a stupid newbie.

(I found how to replace them in the old PBs, however the new ones don't seem to have a keyboard screw...)

Underneath, there is a small panel (not the battery) that you will have to remove using a phillips driver. There is a small diagram inside that will show you what to do.
  • Reply 3 of 10
    Have you read your "Getting Started With Your New PowerBook" guide?

Yes, RTFM applies here . The instructions are printed in your manual, accompanied by an exploded view of what you need to do as well as the fact that you will need a Philips 0 (00? I forget but it's in the manual) screwdriver to do the job.
  • Reply 4 of 10
    Of course I didn't read it, silly. If I did, why would I be making myself look like a total tool on the first mac board I have ever posted on?
  • Reply 5 of 10
    Quote:

Originally posted by JoelBennett

Of course I didn't read it, silly. If I did, why would I be making myself look like a total tool on the first mac board I have ever posted on?

• Reply 6 of 10
    pscatespscates Posts: 5,847member
    Well at least the guy's got a sense of humor about it all. That alone makes it okay. Welcome to AI.

• Reply 7 of 10
    It's all good, Joel! Welcome!

Congratulations on your first Mac! I jumpled into the Apple world myself in 2001 when I got my first PowerBook (the kind with the screw in the keyboard ).