Panther Hanging...

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Last night I installed a firmware upgrade to my Airport Extreme Base. My 15" AL PB rebooted and I promptly got the folder with a question mark inside. (I'm a MAC newbie)

I forced a restart (pushed the on/off button) and now the OS will not boot up. Went to the Panther Install Disk and tried to do a disk repair and it said that it couldn't mount/unmount the HD - Disk Repair Failed. Then I tried to repair the permissions and it seemed to correct some iTunes permissions but then it hangs after a while.

I really don't want to do another install of Panther. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Specs: 15" Al PB with 1 GB RAM (user installed) and upgraded 7200 RPM HD (user installed). The only software I had installed was Office X, VPC 6.1 w/win 2K, Adobe's PS7, Ill, Acrobat 6, and two small apps: Sidetrack and an iPod file remover.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    CJ:

Sounds like your harddrive might be falty or something came loose after you put it back together. Try pressing the Option key while rebooting to see if the firmware finds a partition it can boot from.

Luis
  • Reply 2 of 5
    cj3209cj3209 Posts: 158member
    Quote:

Originally posted by ucaboys

CJ:

Sounds like your harddrive might be falty or something came loose after you put it back together. Try pressing the Option key while rebooting to see if the firmware finds a partition it can boot from.

Luis

Hey, Luis:

It finds the my Mac HD but it hangs when it tries to boot from it: I get an apple with a rotating symbol beneath it.

It could be the 7200 HD but it was working fine before I downloaded the firmware upgrade.

Oh well, I just may have to re-install Panther. Sigh...reminds me of my Windows days where I would be re-installing everyone's notebooks...

• Reply 3 of 5
    Sounds like the it's the OS, not the hard drive. Reinstall, that'll fix everything.
  • Reply 4 of 5
    Quote:

Originally posted by cj3209