Revolt

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
That's right folks, I am staging my very own Property Tax Revolt in my community. Here's the situation:

You all know I'm a teacher. In my school system, taxes have not increased in 12 years. I believe the millage is around 15 (that's $15 in tax for every $1,000 for assessed property value).

In the district where I live, the schools are not terrific to say the least. Yet, we pay the highest taxes in the county, to the tune of 25.45 mills. For my home, that's $4,500 per year. Many in my neighborhood are paying $5,200 a year. Some are paying $8,000 in newly built communities. Average county (spelling edit--"county", not "country" for those posters who couldn't detect an obvious typo) millage is about 17-19.

Three days ago, we found out the the district wants to raise taxes...wait for it....23.6% for next year. Do the math. Much of this is to cover a deficit that was discovered three years ago (the operating fund balance), and previous financial "crookery". I say again...our taxes are already the highest in the county.

As a teacher, I obviously support funding education. However, due to our LYING GOVERNOR, no alternative plan to fund education has been presented. He campaigned on property tax reform. Now our taxes are going to surpass $500 per month. Where does it end? How much is enough? Last year, we had a 13% increase. We swallowed it in the hopes that will all the new development and revenue from it, things would improve.

Well...I'll tell you where ends. It ends here. This weekend was spent contacting the media, local and state officials, etc. We handed out over 700 flyers for residents to attend the board meetings this week. We contacted the Governor, Auditor General, State Senators and Reps, etc. We are going to war. The fiscal mismanagement must stop. If we don't get involved, our rate will go to 31 mills. I already pay 10% of my salary to the local school board.