playing with aqua

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Ok I'm new to this but where do I find information on altering OSX. Mainly the gui. Like changing boot screens turning off things that run in the back ground that no one uses; general cutomization tips. For windows its called blackviper.com. Obviously, windows needs it more than mac. but from reading the forums I now know that I should delete the langauge packs that pervade the size of osx. Where can I find information like that or does anyone like to tell what they know. Especially for the time being how do I change that boot screen.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    mr. memr. me Posts: 3,221member
    Quote:

Originally posted by booradlly

Ok I'm new to this but where do I find information on altering OSX. Mainly the gui. Like changing boot screens turning off things that run in the back ground that no one uses; general cutomization tips. For windows its called blackviper.com. Obviously, windows needs it more than mac. but from reading the forums I now know that I should delete the langauge packs that pervade the size of osx. Where can I find information like that or does anyone like to tell what they know. Especially for the time being how do I change that boot screen.

You can launch Terminal.app. At the UNIX prompt, type top. Run down the list of tasks. Note PIDs of the processes that you don't want. Kill them.

Then please stay the heck off this forum when you screw things up.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    ResExcellence has a bunch of stuff like that.
  • Reply 3 of 8
    toweltowel Posts: 1,479member
    Quote:

Like changing boot screens ...

What's a boot screen? Up 48 days and counting...
  • Reply 4 of 8
    (In response to Code Master)

Perfect, just what I was looking for. I knew it existed just couldn't find it.

(In response to Towel)

Anyway, assuming you really dont know what a boot screen is. Go to resexcellence to find out and then replace yours with one of the 50+ that are on the site to chose from.