Powerbook Ultraportable?

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
What are the prospects for Apple producing a sub-3 lb. notebook in the near future?

I'm a student who commutes 10 miles by bike every day and I have to carry my computer on my back most of the time. I currently have a Dell Inspiron 2100 ultraslim notebook that's on its last legs (the hinges for the screen are falling apart!) Weight is the primary concern for me, and I'm looking for another ultralight notebook for my next machine.

I really want to switch back to Mac (I owned a IIsi and PB5300 in the good 'ol days and I'm growing tired of waiting for Windows to restart after crashing), but the weight of Apple's current notebooks has me looking at the IBM ThinkPad X40, and Sony Vaio, both of which hover around 3 lbs.

Has anyone heard anything?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 34
    I think the current 12" is as light as your'e going to get from apple.
  • Reply 2 of 34
    yevgenyyevgeny Posts: 1,148member
    12 inch iBooks are pretty light. You would do better to lighten your burden by carying fewer books. One thing of note is that where an iBook isn't as light as you would prefer it to be, it is actually built like a tank (it was designed to be used by schoolchildren) and so you won't have the "falling off of the hinges" problem. Ultra portables sacrifice durability for weight and you are currently living on the downside of that arrangement.

Do the right thing and get an iBook that was designed to be abused the way you are abusing your laptop You need a ruggged laptop to handle the abuse your bike commute is going to dish out.
  • Reply 3 of 34
    satchmosatchmo Posts: 2,699member
    Quote:

Originally posted by tlee650

the IBM ThinkPad X40, and Sony Vaio, both of which hover around 3 lbs.

The Powerbook 12" is 4.6 lbs. I'd say an extra weight of 1.6 lbs or so is worth it given you're getting a fully equipped laptop.
  • Reply 4 of 34
    rhumgodrhumgod Posts: 1,289member