Please help - walkthrough burning DVD/CD in OSX

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Okay - I searched the forums, and decided none really answered what I needed - I'm sorry if I missed something, but some of the titles were rather ambiguous, and I dont have the time to go through 50 of them - besides this case is somehwat uniqe in a few minor ways.

Beggining of this year, Film and TV department at my school brought four new iMac G5's, to supplement eight pe-existing iMac G4s. The machines are loaded up with Final Cut Express HD, and all the standard applications. I am a student at this school, and I know a fair bit - not much, or I wouldn't be asking for help would I? about computers. I follow Apple, as I admire the company, but have had little hands on experience. When I saw the new iMac G5's, and the Film&TV teacher hastling over removable disk drives and everything, I pointed out that the G5s have some type of burner across the range. She had, until that point been unaware of this, as the techies just kind of plug them in, restrict the things they dont want 16 year old boys playing around with and leave.

As I said, I have little hands on experience with Macs, but I brought in a blank CD, and tried to figure out the burning process - which to my surprise was remarkably simple for me using an unfamiliar OS - kudos to apple. I simply did the whole finer drag and drop thing than said Eject and Burn.

However, I didn't go right through with the process - No files needed to be transfered at the time, and I didnt want to waste a disk.