Archive/Install, etc.

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
(slightly crossposted)

I am going to jump to Tiger, I think, when 10.4.2 comes out, and was going to do an archive and install; something I have never done before.... even since the OS X Beta! (Gasp!)

Some questions:

What kind of things will I have to migrate over from my previous system folder, and how much of a pain is it?

Does it only move over previously installed SETTINGS? or, for instance, does it also migrate application support folders, etc?

Can I not install it on an external Firewire drive? need I disconnect that drive to install on the Hard Disk? There are issues with this kind of thing, no?

Is there anything else do I need to know/ be wary of?

Sorry for the perhaps inane/redundant questions. I just don't want to lose every setting/ third-party util/application support stuff I have, and want to make the migration as smooth as possible.

---a little puzzled....

Hope Springs Eternal,

Mandricard

AppleOutsider

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    One other thing: I have an Adaptec SCSI card (2930) in a PCI slot attached to my cd-burner. Have the problems with those been remedied?
  • Reply 2 of 5
    ...........Anyone? Beuller?
  • Reply 3 of 5
    The archive & install will take all of your application, network and system settings over to the new version. I use it all of the time without any issues...that said, whenever you upgrade to a new OS *always* backup your data.
  • Reply 4 of 5
    mandricardmandricard Posts: 486member
    thanks.... will it also bring over utilities like PithHelmet, etc., or will all those kinds of things have to be reinstalled?

Mandricard

AppleOutsider
  • Reply 5 of 5
    lundylundy Posts: 4,466member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Mandricard

thanks.... will it also bring over utilities like PithHelmet, etc., or will all those kinds of things have to be reinstalled?

Mandricard

AppleOutsider