Crashes Galore With Tiger...

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I had been running Tiger for about 2 months perfectly fine when all of a sudden, it gave me that screen saying that "You need to restart your computer." I proceeded to restart my computer and from then on, I could never boot into the Finder. At the beginning screen with the dark gray apple icon, I would continually get the message "You need to restart your computer." On rare occasion, I would make it all the way to the Finder where about 15 seconds later, I'd get the screen "You need to restart your computer." I then proceeded to do a CLEAN install erasing my entire startup hard drive and reinstalling from the install DVD. I got a crash while I was registering and setting up my account, so once again I restarted and was able to set up my account fine. After being up for about 2 days, I "had to restart" my computer once again. I restarted and it was up for about 7 hours or so. I did a software update and upgraded from 10.4 to 10.4.2. I restarted again willingly and the computer remained up for about 8 minutes. I clicked on System Preferences and then Software Update and it crashed again saying "You have to restart your computer." At this point I really don't know what too do. I have two other hard drives on my desktop with ALL of my information. Can anyone help me. My system is a Quicksilver G4. I upgraded the processor from a 867 Mhz Single G4 to Dual 1.2 Ghz Gigadesigns G4 Processors. The memory is maxed out at 1.5 GB and the video card is a Nvidia GeForce Fx I believe with 128 MB of VRAM. I added a Sonnet Serial ATA PCI Card Adapter and a Sonnet ATA/133 Card adapter. Also I upgraded the Superdrive. I've been told it may be all the upgrades but this is completely new. The machine has performed beautifully in the past with all the upgrades and this type of performance is completely new. If anyone can help, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11