writing code for Dummies? :)

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Hey all you progam developers,

Ideally, I'd like to see a nice book "writing OS X code for dummies."

How do you learn how to write code for OS X? We need more developers for MAC! How do you learn how to do this?

Thanks,

Rick

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    rashrash Posts: 14member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Rick12322

Hey all you progam developers,

You assume too much; I'm no program developer.

Quote:

Originally posted by Rick12322

Ideally, I'd like to see a nice book "writing OS X code for dummies."

Why would you want that? There are so many programming language available for Mac, that such a book would be useless. Perhaps "Objective-C Programming" would be more appropriate. And there are some good books on that, even for newbies. I rather like "Beginning Mac OS X Programming", by Michael Trent and Drew McConmack, published by Wrox.

But have a look on Amazon for more book titles.

The hardest part of program development is not the coding, but coming up with a good idea for an application and asking for user input as early on in your project as possible. In a way, software developers are inventors, thinking thoughts noway had before, finding solutions for problems people encounter in their daily lives.

The next hardest part is sticking to your idea and giving support for your product. That and marketing your software, building a good reputation.

Only then comes the coding part as being the hardest thing to do IMHO.

So, I guess you should first come up with a good idea, so you're motivated enough to endure the hardships of learning a programming language (probably several languages) and what else is needed to realize your idea.

This probably also means that not everyone is cut out to be a good software developer, at least, not an alround software developer.
  • Reply 2 of 3
    Steps to learning how to program:

1 - Think of a program you want or need.