Alternatives to Quicken 2006

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I do like Quicken, except it keeps crashing & sometimes won't open.

What alternatives are there?

I use it for personal accounts & for logging what is taxable income & tax claimable expenses as I am a self employed Doctor. Quicken allows me to print of a tax summary at the end of the financial year that I can then pass to my accoutant. Bit concerned with the frequent crashes in Quicken.

Have just downloaded..

iBank

Personal finance

Checkbook

iCash

Moneydance

Accounts

from the apple downloads to try.

Anyone any experience of these or better alternatives?

Thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    furious_furious_ Posts: 88member
    MYOB is accounting software which may be of use to you

i am not sure though
  • Reply 2 of 8
    nofeernofeer Posts: 2,427member
    what about buying quicken 2004??? many banks don't support >04 for mac. really it think with intuit the only real upgrades to mac quicken is the number not much else. now you could get an intel mac, run bootcamp and windows and get quicken for windows, or money.
  • Reply 3 of 8
    pbg4 dudepbg4 dude Posts: 1,611member
    You could try Cashbox. It's open source and donationware. I actually plan on checking it out when I get home tonight as I just found the link earlier today.
  • Reply 4 of 8
    Quote:

Originally posted by PBG4 Dude

You could try Cashbox. It's open source and donationware. I actually plan on checking it out when I get home tonight as I just found the link earlier today.

how do you get your online banking stuff into it. with quicken you have to download and import, if it was windows the bank automatically sends to quicken what file format does it use, and do the banks have it???
  • Reply 5 of 8
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    Wow, NOFEER... first item on the link was about exactly that. \ (Hint: QIF)
  • Reply 6 of 8
    Quote:

Originally posted by Kickaha