Time Inc. demos tablet-friendly magazine concept

124»

Comments

• Reply 61 of 78
    tbelltbell Posts: 3,146member
    If by not hurting, you mean possibly losing a significant chunk of their sales to Napster, but raping people other ways, you probably are correct.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by solipsism View Post

Speaking of ?green?, the music industry wasn?t hurting when Apple came along and wanted to sell music online, but the publishers are hurting.

• Reply 62 of 78
    tbelltbell Posts: 3,146member
    At least your screen name is appropriate.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Brainless View Post

Eco-terrorists probably don't want to hear this opinion. So true.

• Reply 63 of 78
    The demo from SI also suggests other amazing possibilities: better electronic textbooks.

As I'm not a programmer, but am an educational materials developer, I hope Apple or somebody produces an app that will allow people to create content easily.
  • Reply 64 of 78
    irelandireland Posts: 17,799member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by DanielSW View Post

Think of all the trees that won't get cut down because of the Apple Tablet replacing all the paper publications.

At least books do not have to be plugged in to fossil powered wall sockets. Mostly trees are replanted, and cutting down and planting trees provides jobs.
  • Reply 65 of 78
    teckstudteckstud Posts: 6,476member
    I've had Zinio reader for magazines for almost 10 years now. Who cares?

Beside I prefer paper anyway- if I can't touch it, and throw it out or pass it on, I don't want it.
  • Reply 66 of 78
    I see they dropped a hint, in the guise is a Mac OS scrollbar

• Reply 67 of 78
    Textbooks...

With audio/video, weblinks, interactive quizzes, note taking and marking-up. Awesome learning tools, especially for language arts, history, science, art, well, every topic, I guess. Would beat the heck out of lugging paper versions around.
  • Reply 68 of 78
    Quote: