Mac OS X dev reflects on Apple, $100K tablet bounty, App Store piracy

Comments

• Reply 41 of 116
    djrumpydjrumpy Posts: 1,116member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by DaveyJJ View Post

I'll pipe in at this point. I can't answer your last question but I can address the first bit.

I had seven apps in the store in total and was lucky enough to have my first app in only a few months after the store opened. That turned out to be the best selling one, btw. I too found the idea of someone pirating my games, $0.99 to $2.99 absurd.

And I'm not a naive newbie ... I'm an Apple user since the late 70s and was around during the days when you could rent software like Quark and Adobe Illustrator. There was never piracy then.

But after finding my second app on the usual pirate app sites within eight hours after it hit the store, I started to really look at my high score logs. The seven apps averaged 87% rate of piracy ... only 13% of the high score loggers were actual purchasers.

Every app pirated? Obviously not. But I looked through those pirate app sites carefully and I found 98 of the top 100 apps available (this was a year ago now though). I have no idea why someone would pirate a $0.99 app. Seriously ... I wish I did but it makes no sense to me at all. It's $1.

My $0.02.

So the numbers for the "popular" apps might be reasonably accurate, but certainly not for the dregs like the fart apps and what not.

The report is skewed in my mind.

Still sad that someone would begrudge a buck for an app.
  • Reply 42 of 116
    I have my first gen iPhone jail broken simply because there is a glitch with my account at Att and it is easier to jailbreak then deal with the fools at Att. There is not a single pirated app on my phone and there never will be. Heck, the only non Apple approved program on there is Pda net that I use in case of an emergency.

Using their logic that must mean that since I rip my dvd's to a hard drive then most of them must be pirated (none are).