Rumors of new 7-inch iPad from Apple persist

Comments

• Reply 61 of 137
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by esummers View Post

I am more inclined to believe a 7" iPad is coming to maybe replace the iPod touch. A 7" model makes sense because if you keep the resolution the same and decrease the size to 7", the user interface elements are about the same size as the iPod Touch.

The Touch as a device that can easily be pocketed fills an important niche. A 7" device would not fit into that niche.

I for one love that I can slip my Touch into my pocket and use it for entertainment purposes during lunch breaks at work. Go up to 7" and now you've got a device that you can't use that way. I don't have any where to securely store such a unit at work and I certainly can't carry it around with me. I work in retail and am on the move all day, not tied down to a desk.

So I'd be considering the 7" iPad in place of the standard version. Myself, I'd rather pay a little more and live with the extra weight to gain a more enjoyable larger screen. Most would.

But a somewhat larger Touch, now that would have some appeal because it would be handy for situations in which neither the 7" or 9.7" iPad would get it done. But the current Touch is not quite perfect. It's fine as a portable gaming machine, is useable, though not ideal, as a reader, good for media consumption, yet pretty awful as a browser or for inputing via a virtual keyboard. Increase the screen size and all of those activities are improved, in the case of browsing, dramatically. Do it just enough and portability doesn't suffer.