Liquidmetal created SIM ejector tool for Apple's iPhone, iPad

Comments

• Reply 41 of 67
    dluxdlux Posts: 666member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by FineTunes View Post

Casting is certainly cheaper than machining, but does any one know the cost of the material that will go into the casting? What is the largest size cast that LmT have done--couldn't find anything on their web site about size.

With most metals, objects machined from solid billets are stronger than a cast counterpart. It has to do with the grain structure. Cast iron, for example, is relatively easy to crack (such as a knocked-off fire hydrant), whereas rolled forms typically only bend (such as I-beams and solid billet). I'm not sure if I'd want a portable computer case to be made from a casting, due to the chances of an impact breaking a piece off.

I have no knowledge of Liquid Metal's propertied, but if someone earlier said they broke their ejector instead of merely bending it (such as with a much softer but more ductile paperclip) that implies that it might ultimately break/shatter if subjected to an impact. (Not that the glass faces currently used for iPhones are any better in this regard - it's just a matter of degree.)
  • Reply 42 of 67
    finetunesfinetunes Posts: 2,065member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Dlux View Post

With most metals, objects machined from solid billets are stronger than a cast counterpart. It has to do with the grain structure. Cast iron, for example, is relatively easy to crack (such as a knocked-off fire hydrant), whereas rolled forms typically only bend (such as I-beams and solid billet). I'm not sure if I'd want a portable computer case to be made from a casting, due to the chances of an impact breaking a piece off.