Apple's next-gen iPad to get iPod touch-like back, wide-range speaker - rumor

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 48
    dunksdunks Posts: 1,254member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Wonder View Post

Except the iPod Touch does not have a flat back, it's curved!!

That's not true:

http://images.apple.com/ipodtouch/de...ks20100901.jpg

The rounded edges now level out into a completely flat surface (so the iPod lays flat). This is not the case for the third generation iPod touch and first generation iPad.

The current iPad has a sharp edge but a rounded back surface. Apple took this design cue from the iMac (so the consumer would think of it more as a computer than an oversized iPod touch).
  • Reply 42 of 48
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Wings View Post

Being an electronics engineer, I never understood why Apple (or anyone) hasn't yet put just a single high quality camera in a phone or iPad and use it for both front & back viewing.

One good camera, pointing UP and buried internally near the upper edge. A movable mirror that can pivot 90 degrees and a glass aperture on either side of the mirror, one for the front and one for the rear. The camera points to the mirror and when in one position it gets a view out the front, and when the mirror is in the other position the camera gets its view out the back. Another big benefit is that it would make auto-focus and zoom much easier to do and more powerful since the front-to-back dimensions of the camera could be much greater, needed for high zoom and wide ranging focus.

... just early morning rambling... carry on.