MPEG LA starts digging patent pool under Google's WebM

Comments

• Reply 101 of 174
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by AdonisSMU View Post

Billions of dollars worth of research and investment went into the work of h264. The innovators deserve to be compensated for their work.

Asking businesses and developers to work for free is not fair or moral especially when they have bills to pay and children to feed just like everyone else.

There is no such thing as a free lunch no matter what google tells you.

How much money did Amazon spend developing one-click shopping? How much are they making in royalty payments? That sounds like a free lunch to me.
  • Reply 102 of 174
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by sprockkets View Post

The only clause for losing the rights to a license over webm is if you sue the webm organization. That's to use it as a bargaining chip if MPEG-LA holders decide to sue.

I can't say for sure because I'm not a patent lawyer, but I've read the WebM licensing terms, and they read something along the lines of 'taking part in or facilitating patent litigation against WebM', which in legalese could just as well imply that signing a cross-licensing deal with MPEG-LA to ensure you can keep selling your VP8-based product would also mean that Google invalidates your WebM license. You _are_ 'facilitating' or 'taking part in' patent litigation if you would in that case, because by signing some cross-licensing deal with MPEG-LA you'd basically admit VP8 infringes on H264 patents (why else would you negotiate with them in the first place)

Quote:

Nowhere does MPEG-LA grant any indemification either if another patent holder sues over h.264. While the situation appears better it took over a decade for all the patent lawsuits to be cleared up over the ancient MPEG1-Layer III audio codec.