Location tracking probe expands despite 2001 FCC law requiring all phones track users

Comments

• Reply 61 of 145
    muppetrymuppetry Posts: 3,331member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by magicj View Post

The problem is "consolidated.db" doesn't operate in accordance with the policies defined in that document. The user cannot turn it off and the data it stores is kept forever. Even if you get a new phone, the old data is copied to the new phone via iTunes.

They could be argued to be within the stated policy if turning off location services prevents transmission. I didn't see anything about the phone not recording cell towers and wifi points in that situation.
  • Reply 62 of 145
    steven n.steven n. Posts: 1,229member
    Quote:

A very poorly written article filled with so many bad pieces of information that I'm not going to spend time debunking it.

I'll just say that, speaking as an small iPhone developer, my iPhone is now off and will stay off until this issue is resolved.

As a small developer myself, what issue? I decided to check out just how accurate the data is that is collected in regard to my true location. Over a 36 hour period, I found it could pin point my location within the Phoenix metro to within a 43 square mile area.

http://www.noisetech-software.com/Di...atability.html

So from what I see, it is pretty clear:

1) When you upgrade an iOS device or activate it, you are given an option to Opt-Out of sharing data with Apple. This falls under the "Diagnostic and Usage Data". Clicking on "Details" will spell out things more. With the Opt-Out set, you will still get location data available on the device but items like crash logs and location data will not be shared.

2) Under Settings->General-Restrictions, you can turn off Location for the "Following Apps". Apple never claims, for those that read, that all location data is turned off. Just specific apps cannot use location data.