American Airlines to save $1.2 million shifting paper flight charts to iPad

Comments

• Reply 61 of 106
    matrix07matrix07 Posts: 1,993member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Gatorguy View Post

American Airlines looks to be an equal opportunity tablet buyer. At the same time they're putting iPads in the cockpit, they're putting Samsung's tablets in First Class.

http://www.wired.com/gadgetlab/2011/...s-galaxy-tabs/

That's a funny part. Samsung did everything, even customize their tablet, to have AA accept them. Sound like they aren't too confident in their own product.
  • Reply 62 of 106
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Mac.World View Post

You don't own, nor have used an iPad. That is readily apparent by your comments, which by the way remind me of a little kids. Please specify which airline and route you fly, so that I can ensure I don't fly on it.

He could be a new magicj. Rememeber "I'm an iOS dev"?
  • Reply 63 of 106
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Jonamac View Post

You are completely contradicting yourself. You aren't happy that an iPad is replacing your EFB but you think they should use a cheaper tablet as it's just a PDF reader? You seem to be criticising the choice of an iPad as it's not of the same quality as an EFB then suggesting something cheaper even than an iPad be used.

Yes, that's also my impression reading his posts but hey, he's young. He could not be that mature after all. (being anti-iPad (Apple) and all that for no reason.) I'm glad he flied military, not civilian. Doesn't really want any fanboyist pilot (in this case, Android) on my flight.
  • Reply 64 of 106
    mj1970mj1970 Posts: 9,002member
    Xanthia01 sounds like one of those guys that went apoplectic when they first started introducing fly-by-wire systems...or even avionics in general.