hello i am new to AppIns and you have probably answered this before:

will the iBook be a G4 and when?

would love to have a book with vel eng.

thanks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 24
    Uhhhhh. Vel eng?
  • Reply 2 of 24
    velocity engine. its in a G4 but not G3. helps with video, graphics...
  • Reply 3 of 24
    Ah, AltiVec.

About the iBook, let's assume Apple will release the G5 in its towers in January.

Remember how long it took for the PowerBook to get a G4 processor after the towers got them? It was about two years, if I remember correctly. If the towers got G5s, then the iMac would probably get a G4, and the PowerBook would remain G4 for a while. Since the PowerBook would have a G4 for a while, the iBook would keep the G3 in order to keep them far enough apart until PowerBooks got G5s.

I confuse myself sometimes.
  • Reply 4 of 24
    murbotmurbot Posts: 5,262member
    It is so far off that it won'r be worth waiting for, that's for sure.

BTW the 600 MHz G3 is a pretty damn fast laptop, in case you haven't used one.
  • Reply 5 of 24
    I'm of the school of thought that Altivec code is not widely enough implimented in current apps (could be wrong here) to make it a major purchase variable...unless you consider that OS X itself has a fair amount of Altivec optimization. Anyone care to confirm?
  • Reply 6 of 24
    [quote]Originally posted by Darth Brooks:

<strong>hello i am new to AppIns and you have probably answered this before:

will the iBook be a G4 and when?

would love to have a book with vel eng.

thanks.</strong><hr></blockquote>

Apple does have a "book" with a G4 - it's called the TiBook
  • Reply 7 of 24
    cdhostagecdhostage Posts: 1,038member