Rumor: Retina displays being produced for 13-inch MacBook Pro

Comments

• Reply 21 of 41
    boeyc15boeyc15 Posts: 986member
    Wake me up when the 27" Panel is Retina ready and a truly new Mac Pro arrives.

Might be a while. I have read the processing power needed to drive a 27inch retina type display just isn't available... Yet. There has been some complaints that the MB retina is a tad laggy when swiping or zooming (I have no first hand knowledge).
  • Reply 22 of 41
    xmikuxmiku Posts: 32member

Quote:

Originally Posted by brutus009 View Post

It's been funny reading all the reviews that burn the retina display as "not ready for prime time" as if the 15" we're Apple's only trick in the bag... realizing all the while that the 15" had to happen first because the 13" is what folks really want.

So the 15" primed the market and warned content providers what was coming,

but the 13" is the real deal with mass appeal.

But isn't 13" so popular mainly because of the lower price point?

I think they are not going to make retina Airs anytime soon, because the display requires large battery. And what sense would it make to have 13" retina Air and 13" retina Macbook Pro (the difference in thinness would be only marginal)?

• Reply 23 of 41
    kotatsukotatsu Posts: 1,010member

Quote:

Originally Posted by tylerk36 View Post

I see the Retina Display as a norm for all macs eventually.  It's a good thing.  I think the iMac would be a great machine for a retina display.  Wonder how cost effective that will be though?  A 27" iMac w/ retina display.

4K screens cost a small fortune at the moment. I doubt we'll see a retina iMac for some time, perhaps even some years.

• Reply 24 of 41
    zunxzunx Posts: 620member

Hopefully with matte display option. It is a serious health and productivity issue for millions of people. Google MacMatte.

• Reply 25 of 41
    slurpyslurpy Posts: 5,384member

Quote:

Originally Posted by zunx View Post