Apple's new Fusion Drive debuts in latest iMacs, Mac minis

Comments

• Reply 21 of 116

Quote:

Originally Posted by mdriftmeyer View Post

The Mac Mini is a useless product for my needs other than having a bottom feeder Mac for Web/Mail and publishing. Nothing for Engineering even at the entry level for OpenCL.

Too bad.

The iMac obsession with thin is ultra disappointing. I'll not touch the Nvidia garbage and their yield issues in the 28nm stamp out. The lack of commitment from Nvidia with OpenCL alone has me p/o'd enough as it is, but the garbage 512MB and up to 1GB RAM on the GPGPUs is embarrassing Apple.

You sacrifice potential performance for being ultra-thin. Looks sexy, too bad she can't reproduce.

Mac Pro is the only option left for heavy computing work.

So... I'll sum up:

"I'm an engineer and heavy OpenGL user. I'm UPSETI can't use a Mac Mini or iMac for my ENGINEERING OpenGL WORK."

...to which I say: You can't use a Honda Civic to haul a horse trailer either.

• Reply 22 of 116

Quote:

Originally Posted by digitalclips View Post

My feeling is hybrid technology will be a massive improvement for the average consumer but will need tweaking for those of us editing HD video and massive RAW files. IMHO A Mac Pro or MBP with a large SSD for the OS and apps and 7200 rpm HDD for images and video won't be bettered until we have inexpensive SSDs 1 TB and upward. Although as I said earlier up the thread, of we had some control over the intelligent software it might just work. I'd want to specify what was always to go the the HDD. Not for speed but for price / capacity.

As a pro video editor, I strongly disagree. I'd rather boot off a single mechanical HDD and keep my media on an SSD, if that was my only choice - A single 7200rpm drive is way too slow for editing. As it is, I boot SSD and have a RAID of mechanical drives, since the latter remains the best value / speed / capacity combination. Though not for long, as larger capacity SSDs keep getting cheaper.