AC/DC library now available on Apple's iTunes Store

in iPod + iTunes + AppleTV edited January 2014
Legendary rockers AC/DC, one of the last major holdouts from the iTunes Store, have inked a deal with Apple, and their catalog of songs is now available for purchase.


The iTunes Store prominently advertised Monday morning that AC/DC's entire catalog is now available. Options include the full studio collection for $99.99, while an expanded digital box set with rarities, demo tracks and four live albums is available for $149.99.

Classic albums including "Back in Black" and "Highway to Hell" are available for $9.99 each, while the breakthrough album "High Voltage" is mastered for iTunes and is $14.99.

Individual AC/DC tracks are also available for $1.29 each, including "Thunderstruck," "You Shook Me All Night Long," "T.N.T," and "Hells Bells."

The full list of albums mastered for iTunes and now available are:
  • The Collection (all studio albums for $99.99)
  • The Complete Collection (all studio albums, live albums and box sets for $149.99)
16 Studio Albums
  • High Voltage (1976)
  • Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (1976)
  • Let There Be Rock (1977)
  • Powerage (1978)
  • Highway To Hell (1979)
  • Back In Black (1980)
  • For Those About To Rock We Salute You (1981)
  • Flick Of The Switch (1983)
  • 74 Jailbreak (1984)
  • Fly On The Wall (1985)
  • Who Made Who (1986)
  • Blow Up Your Video (1988)
  • The Razors Edge (1990)
  • Ballbreaker (1995)
  • Stiff Upper Lip (2000)
  • Black Ice (2008)
4 Live Albums
  • If You Want Blood You?ve Got It (1978)
  • Live (1992)
  • Live (2 Volume Collector?s Edition) (1992)
  • Live At River Plate (2012)
3 Compilation Albums
  • Bonfire (1997)
  • Backtracks audio (2009)
  • Iron Man 2 soundtrack (2010)
"AC/DC?s thunderous and primal rock and roll has excited fans for generations with their raw and rebellious brand of music, which also resonates with millions of new fans discovering AC/DC everyday," Apple said in a press release. "Their growing legion of fans will now experience the intensity of AC/DC?s music in a way it has never been heard before. AC/DC?s music has been Mastered for iTunes, ensuring the music is delivered to listeners with increased audio fidelity, more closely replicating what the artists, recording engineers and producers intended. "

Members of AC/DC held out from having their content available on iTunes, as they disliked the ability for users to buy individual tracks. In an interview last year, guitarist Angus Young said listening to their songs as part of a complete album was the "best way" to hear them.

The most famous holdout from Apple's iTunes Store was The Beatles, but their absence ended in late 2010. And the catalog of Led Zeppelin hit iTunes in 2007.


  • Reply 1 of 33
    irelandireland Posts: 17,671member
    Gruber'll say, "finally".
  • Reply 2 of 33
    irelandireland Posts: 17,671member
    In case anyone missed the link:
  • Reply 3 of 33
    MacProMacPro Posts: 18,373member
    Anyone who has held out this long should simply be left out IMHO.
  • Reply 4 of 33
    irelandireland Posts: 17,671member

    The Scottish, British, Australian band.

  • Reply 5 of 33
    irelandireland Posts: 17,671member


    Originally Posted by digitalclips View Post

    Anyone who has held out this long should simply be left out IMHO.


    Disagree. It is their music, you know.

  • Reply 6 of 33


  • Reply 7 of 33
    gazoobeegazoobee Posts: 3,754member


  • Reply 8 of 33
    lkrupplkrupp Posts: 7,320member
    Beavis and Butthead will be very pleased.
  • Reply 9 of 33
    rhyderhyde Posts: 294member

    They're definitely on the "highway to hell" now....

  • Reply 10 of 33
    haarhaar Posts: 563member
    taken a long time, but finally geezer rock LOL /sarcasm has arrived in the iTunes store... (along with the Beatles, Rolling Stones, Led Zepplin,KISS. among others gone-but -perhaps -not-forgotten) meaning anything that was Originally released on VINYL (gasp)...
    ok, they were not geezers at the time it was made... (thus this is Sarcasm)

    the good ole days, when were was no "Bling" just a band that sang,(and only "real-time" sound processing) when on tour, F* there brains out, played music, and moved on... kinda makes you wish for the days of Hi-Fi, Cassettes and record players...

    and IMO AC/DC, Responsible for the mighty "Rock Chick"... or rock-goth.. LOL (or was that KISS)...
  • Reply 11 of 33
    jmc54jmc54 Posts: 202member

    after garth brooks and bob segar, who's left??

  • Reply 12 of 33
    jmc54 wrote: »
    after garth brooks and bob segar, who's left??

    Kid Rock-although I am not trying to imply he is in the same league as the other hold outs.
  • Reply 13 of 33
    I was curious to see if iTunes Match would work with these albums, since I already own most of them. So far, only Back in Black shows up as Matched AAC. The others still show as MPEG Audio files from when I ripped my CDs.
  • Reply 14 of 33
    Translation: "We're losing money on CD's now so we have no choice."
  • Reply 15 of 33

    Duplicate post. Moderator, please remove.

  • Reply 16 of 33

    Glad they've finally come on board.

  • Reply 17 of 33


    Originally Posted by bdkennedy1 View Post

    Translation: "We're losing money on CD's now so we have no choice."

    What does CD mean?

  • Reply 18 of 33
    I don't get these artists who refuse to sign onto iTunes because they sell single songs. Are these guys naive enough to think people are going out and buying their CD's?
  • Reply 19 of 33

    Actually, Kid Rock is on iTunes now too.

  • Reply 20 of 33
    chris_cachris_ca Posts: 2,543member


    Originally Posted by AppleInsider View Post

    Classic albums including "Back in Black" and "Highway to Hell" are available for $9.99 each, while the breakthrough album "High Voltage" is mastered for iTunes and is $14.99.

    All albums are mastered for iTunes, not only "High Voltage".

    And "High Voltage" is only $9.99.

Sign In or Register to comment.