Apple's 'iWatch' to pack in 10+ sensors for health & fitness tracking, to come in multiple sizes, WS

Comments

• Reply 21 of 54
    solipsismxsolipsismx Posts: 19,566member
    rogifan wrote: »
    hardly ever. But it would be nice if the device wasn't totally useless without being tethered to a phone.

Think of the M7 chip. It's not totally worthless without an app that can read the data because it stores a week's worth of data that can then be read by any number of apps you install later.
  • Reply 22 of 54
    pazuzupazuzu Posts: 1,728member
    Hard to get excited about a health watch when I've been expecting a couch potato lover's TV for the last 3 years.
  • Reply 23 of 54
    eightzeroeightzero Posts: 3,069member
    Eww...
  • Reply 24 of 54

I expect more from Apple then just a fitness devise.

Apple will do the unexpected.

Some say Apple can only use existing technology.

I say, the lack of knowledge of a process or product does not prove its lack of existence.

• Reply 25 of 54
    asciiascii Posts: 5,936member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SolipsismX View Post

There was, and I do see a path for certain sensors in the headphone phones for at least your temperature, and perhaps hydration, pulse rate and blood sugar.

PS: I do somewhat agree with @schlack about the sensors reporting to the phone but there has to be some sort of independent use for a wristwork device, like telling time and some other simple features typically found on a watch. An OLED display that is black with an ultra-thin Helvetica Neue dial that would turn on when you raise your wrist would be perfect for me.