Apple will no longer develop Aperture or iPhoto, OS X Yosemite Photos app to serve as replacement

Comments

• Reply 141 of 219
    djkfisherdjkfisher Posts: 131member

Great write up, thanks

• Reply 142 of 219
    pjanderspjanders Posts: 37member

I was always stumped about Apple passing up the opportunity to buy NIK. I guess now I know why.

• Reply 143 of 219
    ingsocingsoc Posts: 212member

I will still use Aperture for a while yet, but then again, I don't use all of its features and I'm not a professional photographer - but I do love Aperture. :)

Having said that, Aperture does need to be updated. The new Photos app might be a welcome improvement, although I can't imagine that it will have all of the professional features of Aperture. Hopefully Apple progressively update it to include those key features - if they do, then I can see great value in Apple maintaining a powerful photo editing tool as part of their OS (rather than having to spend $200 on a separate application).

• Reply 144 of 219
    MacProMacPro Posts: 19,727member
    djkfisher wrote: »
    Fairly easy, lots out there, for sure.  You will love Lightroom, I manage over a TB of photos with no problems, organized by year month day, etc. Have fun.  Also, you may want to look at Photomatix Pro for HDR stuff.

http://lightroomsolutions.com/articles/migrating-from-aperture-to-lightroom-where-do-i-begin/

I think I'll just stay with Aperture and see what Photos is like when it surfaces. Hopefully we'll get a developer version in the not too distant future with a beta Yosemite release. Yes I love the HDR plug in, I use Photomatix HDR from within Aperture and Photoshop, have for many years.
  • Reply 145 of 219
    ingsoc wrote: »
    I will still use Aperture for a while yet, but then again, I don't use all of its features and I'm not a professional photographer - but I do love Aperture. :)