FileMaker 14 brings feature, speed improvements across Mac, iOS & Windows

Comments

• Reply 41 of 61
    the cool gutthe cool gut Posts: 1,714member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by davidness View Post

I have been a professional FileMaker developer for over 20 years, and it keeps getting better and better. It runs nearly every aspect of our $10M company's operations. Awesome development system!

FileMaker is garbage.  Sure it's good for work groups for 5-10 people, but for anything serious it just falls apart.  FM 13 got ripped apart on FM forum, pages and pages of people complaining about speed.  Their web publishing is a joke too.  If your serious about development, learn a real language - like PHP or Ruby, and use a real database, like MySQL or Postgres.

Saying something like "we have $10 million in revenue and filemaker is amazing" is meaningless as the amount of revenue has nothing to do with the load you put on your system.

• Reply 42 of 61
    crowleycrowley Posts: 10,453member
    Any significant enterprise that is using FileMaker alone for its db needs is pretty damn questionable imo.

It's just a hop ahead from Bento in terms of long term viability.
  • Reply 43 of 61
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Mr. Me View Post

The price tag is not high. FileMaker Pro is an enterprise-level DBMS.

It's not.  It's for companies that can't afford anything else.  Companies usually start in FileMaker, but quickly outgrow it, and are lucky if they can ever migrate off of it, as it becomes to entwined in their business.  I've seen it happen lots of times.  What about it is Enterprise level?  If you have a server crash, and people are using it - you have data corruption.  Guaranteed.   How can more than one developer work on it, you can't put it in a repository.   Can you roll back changes if there's a problem? Nope.  There is nothing Enterprise about it at all.  

• Reply 44 of 61
    mr. memr. me Posts: 3,221member