HTC, Lenovo announce job cuts as losses mount in smartphone market battle

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 27
    nolamacguynolamacguy Posts: 4,758member
    cali wrote: »
    cultofknockoff, knockoffrumors and 9to5knockoff to name a few.

what are you trying to say? Mac = knockoff? how so?

or are you just another new troll? be specific.
  • Reply 22 of 27
    cornchipcornchip Posts: 1,949member

As a product designer I would consider those let go the lucky ones. I can only imagine the product meetings for the designers & engineers left. The arguing, the shaking of heads, knowing they're on a doomed mission. Knowing they don't have a decades-in-the-making comprehensive ecosystem built out to compete with. Talk about demoralizing. 

• Reply 23 of 27
    Quote:

Originally Posted by dasanman69 View Post

What would be the benefit of switching to Tizen? Controlling the OS? Do you really think that will matter, or make a difference?

I'm not advocating a switch to Tizen -- just mentioning what Samsung claims is their direction.

Purely speculating, I think their rationale is the same as Apple's with iOS: control the full solution-stack (hardware + software) and ecosystem.  But do I think that will be successful?  No.

• Reply 24 of 27
    foggyhillfoggyhill Posts: 4,767member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by tmay View Post

How wonderful.

Yes, Gator has left is his usual realm of bending various sources to tell his tale, to actually fantasy land and wish fulfillment.

By the time Google gets there and has a big enough presence, they'll be going up against the wall of established apps and services. Why on earth would chinese makers even want to touch Google's crap with a 10 foot pole when they came make all the money by controlling the ecosystem themselves... They know what happened to others that sucked that tit; they're all nearly dead.

• Reply 25 of 27
    foggyhillfoggyhill Posts: 4,767member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Suddenly Newton View Post