Apple takes iWork for iCloud out of beta, adds features

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 30
    Quote:

Originally Posted by williamlondon View Post

I worked in IT for 20 years in a variety of positions and departments and only once did I create a pivot table, and never once did I have to connect to an external database. The vast majority of people, more than 80% probably more than 90% have no need for such functionality and can leave features like that to the big suites like Office. It's not a bad thing these apps don't do everything, why should they especially when they are free options that cover 100% of the vast majority of users' needs. For those who need more, it's nice there are options, even on iOS now.

"Free" does not mean worthless.  Linux is free, yet it powers a sizable proportion of the Internet, the granddaddy of all networks (a big task).  OS X and iOS are free, and they also are very capable systems.  iWork is free, yet it can and should be developed into a killer office suite, and should even include FileMaker, since that is also part of the Apple family, and Microsoft includes Access, their own database client, with Office.  Apple has the $$$ to devote resources toward developing iWork and iWork for iCloud into serious contenders in the office productivity space, and just because you don't use PivotTables, doesn't mean that they are not useful to many others.  PivotTables are one example of a feature that should be added to the suite, and there are many others that can be added as well.  iWork is not a toy, and should not be treated as such.

• Reply 22 of 30
    Quote:

Originally Posted by danielsutton View Post