Tim Cook email response tells sender to 'stay tuned' for Mac refresh

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 58
    the SC has three pins, which aint much. sure you could increase the number of contacts and make them smaller, but while I'm no electrical engineer, having them exposed on the outside of device would seem more prone to dirt & damage that a port. just my guesses tho.
    But isn’t it more of a waterproof, flat-sided seal? And how is it more prone to getting dirty than a port, which is literally a HOLE where dirt can form?

Compare innies and outies and the dirt gathered within them.  p
    ports work because of friction -- you cram a plug into a port and the force of the long pins/male plug ensures the contacts are made inside the port. "dirt" is not an issue as you likely experience every day with usb and lightning...the small port protects the contacts and a little dust is insignificant. I believe exposed contacts on something like an iPhone would leave them more vulnerable to gunk on the copper and without the friction of plugging into a port would lessen the strength of the connections. 
    edited September 2016
  • Reply 42 of 58