Apple promotes photography with 'Shot on iPhone' contest, but is ripping off photographers...

Comments

• Reply 41 of 103
    airnerdairnerd Posts: 693member
    I'm not a professional photographer so my opinion is probably different...but the bragging rights alone of saying my photo won and was a national ad campaign would be all the thanks I needed.  The ultimate "my hobby is better than yours".  lol
    StrangeDays
  • Reply 42 of 103
    bitmodbitmod Posts: 267member
    But, Apple is and always has been, about people.   Real people.  Regular people.

It’s always had both - professional and ‘regular people’. Although the professionals have been pretty much shoved out the door with Tim at the helm.

Either way, it’s a crappy contest to have no prize. Even elementary schools hand out ribbons. The ‘notoriety’ thing is pure garbage. Can you imagine how that conversation goes;

ME: My photo won the Apple contest and was used for a global marketing initiative as the face of Apple’s multi-billion iPhone industry...

FRIEND: Holy shit, that’s awesome!!! What did you win?

ME: notariety

FRIEND: ??? But you’re not a photographer so that means nothing - you didn’t get a phone or anything?

ME: nope, just the notariety.

FRIEND: That’s so f’n lame...

ME: Sooooooo f’n lame....
    edited January 2019
  • Reply 43 of 103
    Mike WuertheleMike Wuerthele Posts: 6,861administrator
    gatorguy said:

launfall said:
    So don’t enter the contest. This is too much about nothing. You are, perhaps unaware that EVERY photo you store on Google is usable by them without your consent and no remuneration. You seem to have failed the one thing necessary for any editorial comment: knowledge about your subject. 
    Your whataboutism is noted. We're aware that every photo that you store on Google is usable without renumeration, and it is one reason, amongst many others, that we don't use the service. It isn't relevant to the point, at all.