The AMD Radeon VII doesn't work on the Mac at launch, but will soon

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 27

Hi I’m disabled so I’m a high end Mac Pro user, I use my Mac Pro for everything… I own a Mid 2010 Apple Mac Pro 5.1 Desktop QUAD CORE 2.8Ghrz (32GB RAM) 

My Graphics Card is a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB.... My Display is a “Samsung LC34F791WQUXEN 34" UWQHD Curved LED Gaming Monitor w/Speakers”

At present my Graphics Card can’t run Mac OS Mojave and I’m told the best I can hope for is Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX580 8G GDDR5 Dual HDMI/DVI-D/Dual DP Graphics Card Black? Is this true or can I fit the AMD Radeon VII in my Mac Pro 5.1 in time?

Thanks

Kain

• Reply 22 of 27
    Mike WuertheleMike Wuerthele Posts: 6,861administrator
    KainPeake said:

Hi I’m disabled so I’m a high end Mac Pro user, I use my Mac Pro for everything… I own a Mid 2010 Apple Mac Pro 5.1 Desktop QUAD CORE 2.8Ghrz (32GB RAM) 

My Graphics Card is a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB.... My Display is a “Samsung LC34F791WQUXEN 34" UWQHD Curved LED Gaming Monitor w/Speakers”

At present my Graphics Card can’t run Mac OS Mojave and I’m told the best I can hope for is Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX580 8G GDDR5 Dual HDMI/DVI-D/Dual DP Graphics Card Black? Is this true or can I fit the AMD Radeon VII in my Mac Pro 5.1 in time?

Thanks

Kain

It takes some creative power cabling from either a SATA bay or the molex connectors in the optical bay, but a Vega 56, 64, or Radeon 7 will fit, sure.
  • Reply 23 of 27
    Mike thank you so much for getting back to me. I've seen this  and I thought "thats gonna be shit then" Now I'm even more lost.