Tim Cook wanted Apple to fight US DOJ in court over encryption

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 46
    steveausteveau Posts: 299member
    What is the "the 'no rails' technology industry"? I'm not a programmer, but I thought that Apple supported Ruby on Rails, or is he referring to something else?
  • Reply 42 of 46
    BxBornBxBorn Posts: 74member
    Whether we want to admit it or not there are appropriate situations where someone's phone should be made available to law enforcement. We see people getting their personal computers seized for evidence, why should a cell phone be any different? Would anyone be pushing on this point of "privacy" if it were a case that involved a child rapist who's phone may have or may not have contained information around other acts committed or future protection of other children? People only have their panties in a bunch because the word "terrorism" was associated to the San Bernardino case and if allowed, the big bad government would be stopping everyone on the street to take and scan their phones to steal our freedom. I honestly don't believe anyone here would be taking the hardline stance that they are if this was human trafficking case and accessing the phone meant saving kidnapped people and prevent future kidnappings...
  • Reply 43 of 46
    mknelsonmknelson Posts: 1,118member
    steveau said:
    What is the "the 'no rails' technology industry"? I'm not a programmer, but I thought that Apple supported Ruby on Rails, or is he referring to something else?
    “We all have to be intellectually honest, and we have to admit that what we’re doing isn’t working,” said Cook, in an interview with former TIME Editor in Chief Nancy Gibbs. “Technology needs to be regulated. There are now too many examples where the no rails have resulted in a great damage to society.”

I think he's using rails as an analogy to regulation.
    steveau
  • Reply 44 of 46
    charlitunacharlituna Posts: 7,217member
    Johan42 said:
    tzm41 said: