Microsoft teases Chromium-based Edge browser for macOS

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 30
    apple ][apple ][ Posts: 9,233member
    apple ][ said:
    I hope that Safari gets a dark mode which will work on all webpages.

I'm on dark mode on Mojave right now, but take this site for example.

I'm using Safari right now, but the background of the forum page is white. I should be able to override that and turn this page into dark mode, to blend in with my overall dark mode which I'm using on Movaje. I saw that there is some sort of third party paid app which claims to do this on the App Store, but it should be built into Safari.
    Safari supports dark mode media queries in CSS. It’s the site that needs to provide that code though, you can’t automate that in any reasonable way and have it look good in most cases. You can’t just switch the background color.
    I see. I'm not a web developer, so I don't know anything about coding or web design.

This is one site that should definitely support Dark Mode though, seeing as it is an Apple related site.

I like sites where I can choose between light and dark, offering people a choice. Dark mode forums look much better to me, but that's a personal opinion and preference of course.

Now that Mojave has been out for a while, I wonder what the stats are between users using light vs dark? I don't think that Apple has ever released those stats, but it would be interesting to see, just out of curiosity.

My money is on dark mode winning, but that's just a guess from me.
    edited May 2019
  • Reply 22 of 30
    djames4242djames4242 Posts: 651member
    chasm said: