Should I wait for a 970 or buy an eMac now?

tiktik
Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Right now I'm on an iBook and feeling significantly cramped (iBook 600 with Rage 8MB video).

Is it worth it to wait for a 970? I will not have the money available again right away, so I'd hate to blow it on an eMac when a 970 could be right around the corner.

Any advice?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 26
    tiktik Posts: 57member
    Sorry...I posted this in the wrong place. Please move me before the forum Gods decend upon me!
  • Reply 2 of 26
    teddyteddy Posts: 155member
    I am not an expert on the 970 but I assume it will be pretty expensive when it comes out. I have an iBook 600 with 640 Ram and Jaguar and it is a pretty nice computer for email internet and writing papers. I also have an eMac 800 with the DVD-R drive. For the basic applications mail, safari, itunes it isn't that much faster. If you are using iMovie and Photoshop then that is a different story so if you aren't doing anything to heavy dudy I would stick out the wait, save some money and get the 970 when that comes out. Hope I helped you a little bit.

Teddy
  • Reply 3 of 26
    I'd guess the 970 is about 6 months off. Getting an e-mac now and maybe getting a 970 next year after they've gone through a revision may be the best thing if you are feeling cramped on your iBook.

However, you'd probably feel just as cramped on the eMac or get a headache from the low refresh rate you get at max resolution.
  • Reply 4 of 26
    cosmocosmo Posts: 662member
    I'm not sure about waiting for the 970 because even if it is released in Macs within the next 6 months it won't make its way to the emac for a long time. If you are looking at an eMac i would wait for the next reversion (4x superdrive, faster processor, etc) because the current offering has been out for a long time.

When this reversion will come is another question, but if you can wait it might be worth it.
  • Reply 5 of 26