Comments

• Reply 41 of 64
    MplsPMplsP Posts: 3,931member
    omasou said:
    MplsP said:
    omasou said:
    MplsP said:
    omasou said:
    I would rather have had another TB4 port than HDMI. What a wasted hole inside the case!

Everyone who needs HDMI already owns a USB C / HDMI dongle. I've even seen some companies use an Apple TV and AirPlay.

If you're going to include HDMI then why only support 60Hz. If I'm a video editor pro and really need the HDMI port wouldn't I want 120Hz?

Perhaps it's useful for a Sales guy using an MacBook Air and I could be wrong  but I don't see MacBook Pro users using HDMI.

This is a solution for a problem that no longer still exists.
    …and you actually need 4 TB4 ports? There are plenty of people who have older MacBooks who don’t have a dongle. Then there are the people like me who have a dongle that quit working. And all the dongles that got left behind in conference rooms. Or lost when someone else borrowed them and forgot to return them…. 

Just because it’s not a problem for you doesn’t mean it’s not a problem for anyone.
    How do you think he M1 Max supports 3 6K displays and 1 HDTV.

Guessing Apple added the HDMI b/c the M1 Max cannot support 4 6K displays.
    Think about what you're saying- you're effectively complaining that a laptop can't support four 6k displays! How many other laptops even come close to that? If you need that kind of power a laptop is not the right choice for you. As it stands the new MBPs are incredibly powerful and capable; they blow away most other computers on the market, laptop or desktop.

There may be a handful of users who would actually use four TB4 ports, but for each one of those there are many more for whom the SD port or HDMI port is much more valuable.
    I am not complying that the laptop cannot run 4 6K displays. I said, I would rather have 4 TB4 ports.