About the flashing prob on Dual GHz

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I've read somewhere about some kind of "flashing" problem on the dual.



Please, can you describe in details the problem found on the dual 1 GHz ? What is it exactly, and how universal is it ?



I'm thinking about getting a dual soon, so I'm interested to hear more on this potential problem for me.



Thanks.
«1

Comments

  • Reply 1 of 39
    eugeneeugene Posts: 8,254member
    It's happening on all QuickSilver 2002 machines I've seen with GeForce4 MX.



    Just ever few hours or so, I see the screen flash for a millisecond with diagonal lines at the bottom of the screen or sometimes the whole screen.
  • Reply 2 of 39
    murbotmurbot Posts: 5,261member
    I have what I thought was the same problem, but I don't have the lines you are talking about.



    This is on my G4 800 with the Radeon 7500 - every once in a while (less than once a day) the screen brightness "flashes" darker, lighter, then back to normal. Takes all of about 2 seconds. It's not dramatic or anything, but noticeable.



    Odd.



    [ 02-25-2002: Message edited by: murbot ]</p>
  • Reply 3 of 39
    My iBook does the same thing.
  • Reply 4 of 39
    kalikali Posts: 634member
    Maybe the flashing problem has something to do with the LCD screen itself ? There are some fluorescent tubes inside LCD screens. You often see fluorescent tubes flashing in real life. Could the ones used in the LCD do the same ?



    Anyone has the same problem with CRT ? This could rule out the fluorescent tube phenomenon.
  • Reply 5 of 39
    eugeneeugene Posts: 8,254member
    murbot, your problem is probably different, I believe. This only lasts for a millisecond, and you can usuallly clearly see diagonal lines. It affects LCDs and CRTs the same way.



    I haven't see any Radeon 7500 / QS 2002 800 MHz owners in the discussions thread at Apple.com.
  • Reply 6 of 39
    onlookeronlooker Posts: 5,252member
    there's no tube in an lcd
  • Reply 7 of 39
    bodhibodhi Posts: 1,424member
    Kali -



    You seem to be racking your brain about what PM to get. You will be happy with any of them, they are all great machines, just different speeds.
  • Reply 8 of 39
    onlookeronlooker Posts: 5,252member
    Bodhi, Is that an old kormac quote I see? lol
  • Reply 9 of 39
    andersanders Posts: 6,523member
    [quote]Originally posted by onlooker:

    <strong>Bodhi, Is that an old kormac quote I see? lol</strong><hr></blockquote>



    KimKapSol.
  • Reply 10 of 39
    I have the exact same thing as Eugene described. I think it is definitely a problem with the GF4 MX card. Eugene, have you contacted Apple yet about this? If so what is the response they are giving? I am probably about to call Apple and see if I can get through.
  • Reply 11 of 39
    bodhibodhi Posts: 1,424member
    [quote]Originally posted by Anders:

    <strong>



    KimKapSol.</strong><hr></blockquote>



    Bingo!



    I have the Dual GHz but w/ the Radeon card and I am not experiencing any problems.
  • Reply 12 of 39
    eugeneeugene Posts: 8,254member
    TigerWoods99, I called last week. Make sure you tell them about the large thread on Apple's Discussion Boards. Make sure you get a case number.
  • Reply 13 of 39
    kalikali Posts: 634member
    Damn ! This problem is annoying me a bit. I may suspand (or delaying) my purchase just because of this !



    It's let me wondering again about the damn video card.



    Is this flashing problem affecting the GeF4 MX card only ? Or all the NVidia cards ?
  • Reply 14 of 39
    Eugene, what did they say they were gonna do? I'm going to call tomorrow. Hopefully I get through.



    Kali, quit suspending your purchase and just buy one! Just get the Radeon 7500 & upgrade later. This problem is only effecting those with the GF4 MX I believe. It isn't like HUGE and the machine is great otherwise. Don't let this stop you from not buying a computer for another year.
  • Reply 15 of 39
    Well I just called Apple. I told him the case # and mentioned the large discussion on Apple's support page. Initially he thought I had the 17" Studio Display but I pointed out I didn't. The only thing he told me I could do was take it to a store and have the video card replaced, but that isn't much help. If it's the GF4 MX that is causing this problem then what good would it do to have another one put in? I want a different card and a store isn't going to replace it with a different card, only the one that was in there in the first place. Plus I'd end up not having my computer for weeks. So basically I don't know what to do. Are the Radeon 8500 in stores yet? Maybe I could complain and demand they give me one (after all we have spent a lot of money at the store). I doubt they'd do that though. I do have a potential buyer for the card so I could just sell him the card after I get a GF4 Ti or Radeon 8500. This is not a huge problem but I really expect this machine to be perfect after all the other problems we've had in the past with Apple.
  • Reply 16 of 39
    kalikali Posts: 634member
    [quote]Originally posted by TigerWoods99:

    <strong>Well I just called Apple. I told him ....

    but I really expect this machine to be perfect after all the other problems we've had in the past with Apple.</strong><hr></blockquote>



    I totally agree with you Tiger. That's exactly why I'm still waiting a bit again, before buying, just to look around and see. I'm really pissed off with this video card (ok, I'll admit I don't know much about it <img src="graemlins/embarrassed.gif" border="0" alt="[Embarrassed]" /> )
  • Reply 17 of 39
    Only X game I have right now is 4x4 Evo 2 (waiting/praying/hoping that my copy of Links 2002 Championship Edition ships soon) and playing it at 1024 x 766, 85 Hzhigh detail and everything it runs really smooth and looks great.
  • Reply 18 of 39
    majormattmajormatt Posts: 1,077member
    It'd better run well on that machine



    I would love to play RtCW on a dual GHz using a fat pipe



    &lt;drool&gt;



    [ 02-27-2002: Message edited by: MajorMatt ]</p>
  • Reply 19 of 39
    kidredkidred Posts: 2,402member
    It's the GF4MX card, and on any LCD, but for some reason it seems only in OSX. It's the card because of the 100+ people on the apple board with the prob, one of them had 3 montiors (all lcds) hooked up to 3 cards and only the monitor hooked up to the MX had the flash.



    I'm hoping for a discounted upgrade to the GF4 Ti.
  • Reply 20 of 39
    It's not just LCDs that have this problem. I have a ViewSonic 17" CRT monitor and I have the diagonal lines with the GF4 MX. THey should give me a ****in Ti 4600 for BTO price.
Sign In or Register to comment.