Intel going to have it's cake and eat it too!?!

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Desktop Dothans

I find this article a little ironic and yet it seems Intel will come out smelling like roses.

Dothan chips, for the Mac uninformed are chips part of a line that were created for minimal power use. They are part of what has gotten Intel back into the laptop game with regard to battery use. I'm no CPU expert, but I've heard this CPU described as basically a continuation and modernization of the Pentium III core.

They only run up to 2 ghz, but at that speed they still manage to match or best many of the fastest Pentium IV chips. It has the ability to use DDR memory and also two megs of level II cache.

If any of this sounds startling familiar it is because it sounds very much like the future direction of what we call the G4 under Freescale.

The current high end Intel chips have just become unmanageable heatwise. A friend of mine has one and loads of people have complained that they basically can't run at their stated speed most of the time since the heat forces the onchip throttling to activate. Intel has dropped a move to 4 ghz and instead appears to be endosing a desktop Dothan course with dual cores in the future. It also appears they will likely get there faster than IBM or Freescale.

So basically how much does this suck for us Mac users. Intel is going to have it's cake and eat it too. They win the fake megahertz war with their high heat insane power requirement chips. They also manage to get there first and change the discussion with regard to to their reasonable megahertz, powerful, low heat Dothan chips?

The article shows the first of the desktop motherboards for use with these chips. PC builders want to take these microATX boards and use the Dothan chips in them for very powerful, but very small PC desktop machines...like... you know... the Cube.