Faithful Win user seriously looking to switch..need advice

Comments

• Reply 21 of 42
    zengazenga Posts: 267member
    Quote:

Originally posted by concentricity

I personally think the 20" iMac Core Duo is a REALLY compelling machine. I bought one, and I'm SUPER cheap. I've been a life-long (well, since about 5) Apple/Mac user, but this is actually the first Mac I've felt the need to buy. I've always had good second hand macs (I work in IT, and have nice bosses), but I'm still thrilled with the iMac, even after the pangs of shelling out $1699 of my hard earned money. By the way, get it through amazon.com, it ends up cheaper than getting it from Apple's Edu site. In fact, it was cheaper for me to buy from amazon than from Apple's developer site! The only (minor) limitation is that you can't get the 256MB of VRAM. But if you're not thinking about playing games, why would you need it? I have my 20" iMac setup with my Dell 2001FP and it's gorgeous, and running full res with "only" 128MB of VRAM. Also, someone mentioned that you can't upgrade the iMac beyond RAM & HD, but that's not totally true, the CPU is ZIF, and can (in theory) be upgraded to a faster Core Duo down the line. Basically, you're limited to one internal HD (unlimited external via FireWire and USB), one internal slot loading optical, two ram slots, and the x1600 (with however much vram). As a guy with a homebuilt (and significantly overclocked) AMD gaming rig, I know that the most common upgrades are HD, RAM, CPU, all of which you can do with iMac. And those are the ones you're likely to care about, since you've said you're not looking to game.

ok, one more thing, grab a 1GB stick of ram from newegg for about $109, and at some point if you want to go to 2GB, you can always buy another (for less $$ at that point), and sell the 512 to one of the millions of future iMac/MacBook, Mac Mini owners.