French Lawmakers approve Bill threatening Apple's iTunes, iPod

Comments

• Reply 21 of 107
    This laws will only make our songs more expensive, not only in French. Thanx for that!
  • Reply 22 of 107
    andersanders Posts: 6,523member
    I am sorry for your loss of iTMS, frencies...

They did it the wrong way. They should have made it legal to removed DRM and not forced sellers of music to support all players.
  • Reply 23 of 107
    I don't see why the music from all the stores be interoperable with all other players and vice versa. Records, CDs, Tapes, and 8Tracks, were all inoperable with their players from different manufacturers. The fact that I could purchese a music cd and play it in any compact disc player is great.

While I am not an expert (far from it really) on Monopolistic laws, I know that in America tie-in sales are considered against the law (this is what they claimed MS was doing with media player and IE) if you buy an iPod you can only use ITMS, and if you buy from iTMS it's only usable on an iPod. Seems pretty close to a tie-in sale to me.

This law is definately needed.
  • Reply 24 of 107
    mark2005mark2005 Posts: 1,158member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Robin Hood

Not directly related to music, but I have both region 1 and region 2 DVD's. It's a PAIN to play them both on my computer, because it's limited to 5 "switches". They both cost about the same, so the reason I have both regions isn't cost, it's just that it happened that way, e.g. I was somewhere else and bought a DVD, or a friend gifted me a DVD, and so on.

Now why hasn't France outlawed the whole region encoding scheme for DVDs? Doesn't it get in the way of being able to play my DVDs on any DVD player (once the 5 switches are up)?

What hypocrisy...
  • Reply 25 of 107
    Quote:

Originally posted by Mr. H

The massive loss in sound quality?