Microsoft delays launch of Windows Vista

Comments

• Reply 21 of 82
    icibaquicibaqu Posts: 278member
    well if they are doing it for "security issues" it could be that corporate IT departments are much more adept at protecting the computers on their network as compared to your average home user -- something like that.
  • Reply 22 of 82
    chris vchris v Posts: 460member
    Quote:

Originally posted by anaknipedro

PS- What Coorporate consumer would want to upgrade to Vista in November when the watered-down home version won't even be ready until January '07? It doesn't make sense to me. Does MSFT have something up their sleeve?

An ounce of crack, maybe.

Quote:

It seems to me that if the cooporate verson was ready, they would be ready to launch the consumer version too. I don't know, I'm not a developer. Maybe someone could help me out.

They know they can "release" the corporate version because exactly zero large companies will buy it, and they won't have to actually deliver. Or, they can take the order, and ship, in 6-8 weeks (pulling a play from the Apple playbook).
  • Reply 23 of 82
    quevarquevar Posts: 101member
    MS if under huge pressure from some major corporations to get Vista out to businesses by Dec. 31, 2006. In 2003, MS announced an contract that corporations could sign up for that would include all updates and upgrades for a set amount of money. It was assumed in that cotract that an OS upgrade would be included. I can't remember the name of the program. If anyone knows what I'm talking about, please let me know.

So, if MS does not include an OS update within that time frame, corporations are going to be furious. So, this basically means that Vista will not slip beyond the end of 2006, but the quality is going to massively suffer. Something will be shipping this year, but I sure wouldn't want to touch it.
  • Reply 24 of 82