Terminal needs Tabs

124»

Comments

• Reply 61 of 67
    hobbeshobbes Posts: 1,252member
    Quote:

btw, I've been using Macs for 22 years...and OS X full time since Public Beta...do I win a prize? [/B]

For using OS X 10.0 full-time? Yeah, you do deserve some kind of prize.

Quote:

Originally posted by kim kap sol

[B]Show me an implementaion of tabs that trumps Exposé for non-disruptive surveying and control of multiple windows and we'll talk.

Safari. One window, six tabs open. Names of all tabs visible. I can close any tab with a single click -- even with a nonfocused tab in the background.

Exposé won't show me the names of all windows without (1) hitting the Exposé hotkey, and then (2) scrubbing if necessary for text-heavy windows, and won't let me close windows without switching to one first.

In my humble opinion, tabs win on both surveying and control in Safari. If you prefer Exposé, may be gods be with you; turn 'em off. It doesn't bother me in the slightest -- in fact, I often use Exposé to toggle between windows full of various tabs, and/or tabbed windows and single windows, which works nicely.
  • Reply 62 of 67
    chuckerchucker Posts: 5,089member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Hobbes

For using OS X 10.0 full-time? Yeah, you do deserve some kind of prize.

Actually, PB was before 10.0
  • Reply 63 of 67
    acr4acr4 Posts: 100member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Aquatic

Tabs are good. I mean if you don't like 'em don't use 'em. Finder and iChat, hell even Mail, maybe even more apps like Calendar, could use them. Why? I have a 12" screen. OS X likes screen. Tabs are a solution. The end.

Couldn't say it better myself.
  • Reply 64 of 67
    Quote:

Originally posted by Chucker

Actually, PB was before 10.0

'strue. My mind must've boggled at the fact that *anyone* could use the PB full-time. I mean, it was awful neat and all, but... whew.

Mind you, I use OS X for work, not just surfing and WP.
  • Reply 65 of 67