My "Fall Back" Driving Rant

Comments

• Reply 41 of 74
    The closer you get to Miami, the worse. And yes, it's season down here now and already the snowbirds are driving me crazy.
  • Reply 42 of 74
    sdw2001sdw2001 Posts: 18,016member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by hardeeharhar

I am a grad student at penn; live at 44th and pine...

Oh wow. Well like I said I was just down there.
  • Reply 43 of 74
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Splinemodel

Charles. . . you have it easy. I get snowbirds from October through April. Plus, people from Florida don't know how to drive anyway, which makes it a year-long problem.

I hear that. My Dad lives in Naples and says the same thing. Traffic is insane down there over the winter. I'm actually driving down with my brother next week. Did you know the speed limit with a radar detector on 95 is...uh...95?
  • Reply 44 of 74
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by JupiterOne

The closer you get to Miami, the worse. And yes, it's season down here now and already the snowbirds are driving me crazy.

OK, where are you?
  • Reply 45 of 74
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SDW2001

OK, where are you?

Jupiter, Palm Beach County. And Ft. Lauderdale on weekends. Previously I lived in Miami for 7 years.
  • Reply 46 of 74
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SDW2001

I hear that. My Dad lives in Naples and says the same thing. Traffic is insane down there over the winter. I'm actually driving down with my brother next week. Did you know the speed limit with a radar detector on 95 is...uh...95?

I moved here a little less than two and a half years ago, and starting about two years ago the powers that be started to put FHP cops on 95, which blows.

Of course, during my last minute evacuation from Hurricane Frances in 2004, I took the RX-7 (which I no longer own) to Jacksonville airport (180 miles) in 86 minutes. It was in the wee hours of the morning and 95 was totally empty. Crazy times.
  • Reply 47 of 74
    Quote: